top of page

Signature Assignment: Lifelong Wellness Reflection

Updated: Jun 4, 2020

1. The biggest "take-away" from this class is that living a healthy life consists of diet, physical exercise, and proper mental care. This class gives you the knowledge and ability to put these teachings into practice. The class gives you milestones where you participate in mile runs and do it 3 times so that you see the evolution of your physical aspect. Some other useful resources were learning SMART goal setting and putting these in place workout becomes easier in away. The class is also useful by teaching you how to target certain health problems and parts of the body you wish to work on. I greatly appreciate the BMI measurement because this gives you the ability to check your height and weight and gives you an idea of your health risk level. 2. When I leave this class, I plan to create a workout calendar with 2 or 3 options a day so that I am determined to work out daily, but I can choose to do something else if the repeating bug me. I plan to weigh myself and keep track of my BMI weekly so I can tweak my workout for the best results. Before the class, I felt I knew what I was doing and what was best for my body, yet I have concluded that I do know some healthy living strategies. However, I also learned a lot of useful living strategies in my day to day life. My greatest change came from my mental health and how stress levels can accompany many physical issues. I realize now that I need to care just as much about my mental health as I do my physical health. 3. This course curriculum is extremely valuable for day to day life and can help influence your life. In the context of other courses, I would practice mental health, and within my degree, it will be essential to practice. I am pursuing animation and game development which means I'll be sitting at a computer a lot and to avoid wrist issues and issues from sitting all day I will need to make a daily list where I am moving every hour or 30 minutes. I also feel stretching daily and watching what I eat and drink will be a very useful tool for bettering my health. This class and Fitness for Life have both given me useful tools for being healthy, but I feel this class has given me more information on how best to live based on my preference and interest. PART 2: My original SMART goal was to lose my stomach fat, Measure my abdomen weekly to see if there is a change and weigh myself, snack less, keep track of calories, work out daily, I wanted to slim down, not looking to gain a 6 pack, just want too loose my belly and that I would reach this goal by April 1st. This goal strongly relates to Body Composition. My biggest drive was to better understand my body and what makes it up. This goal gave me the trajectory to better understand what I wanted out of this class and the reading that was apart of this class. I wasn’t able to reach this goal in the time span I had however I definitely lost weight and gained a better understanding of my body and how I react to different food. This class has given me a greater understanding of how to plan and follow through with the plans I make. The HRF has given me a better understanding of my body and I can address certain issues by realizing how the issue is affecting me and in what way. For instance, I am happy with my muscular Endurance, but I want to target my muscular strength so I need to separate the two and work on my targeted issue.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page